top of page
  • Writer's pictureJoely To

2020 highlights🌟

Updated: Jan 18, 2021

REFLECTION


2020 has been quite an unexpected year to say the least, but there's been positive surprises too. I always tell myself that nothing should ever be thought of as a failure, but only either as a success or learning opportunity.


But I truly didn't expect that mindset to lead to where Pioneer is today.


How could I make an impact at the age of 17 when I didn't know how to make a website, set up an event or make sure I was providing value to people? But I started small. Maybe, I thought, if I can just impact even one person it'll be worth it.


Once the website was up, I waited, not thinking much of it. And... by the next week, the blog views had gone up x5, subscribers came in from parents, teachers and students, and 3 weeks later I was organising our first national event.


Pioneer was definitely the best part of my 2020. Probably also my proudest achievement to date.


Just hearing the feedback that students feel more confident and find the platform useful, both from themselves and from their parents, makes me incredibly happy. This is exactly why I created Pioneer.


But, I wouldn't be able to say any of this without all the AMAZING support I've had, from you.


I am so grateful to anyone who spread the word, joined our mission and engaged in our events and website. YOU are the motivation behind Pioneer!


So, since Pioneer's launch on 28th April, let's summarise what we've achieved together in 2020!

 

ACHIEVEMENTS


💌 Regularly published articles on the website & sent out newsletters


📆 Partnered with Girls in Data to hold 3 data challenge series & a summer school for over 600 girls across the U.K.


🖇 Worked with multiple companies including Experian, Zurich Insurance & Tableau, with one of our events featured in the news


đŸ‘©â€đŸ’» Organised, planned and delivered a Maths careers Q&A panel webinar for students across the U.K. & Nigeria; recording on YouTube


đŸ‘šâ€đŸ« Presented to over 200 Maths teachers at a MEI conference


đŸ–„ Worked with MEI to promote Maths A-Level to Year 11 students through videos


📱 Spoke at the STEM “Inspo Talks” run by Stemettes & Department for Transport


🎧 Interviewed on 2 podcasts: “It Starts with Action” and “Raise A Voice”, both available on Spotify & Apple Podcasts


🇬🇧 Held a competition & national film screening


đŸ’« Featured on 1 Million Women In STEM’s website


🏆 Won the Innovative Young People of 2020 Award


STATISTICS ON POSTER*


 

Hope you've enjoyed being on our journey with us :)


And, I really hope that this inspires someone to act on what they're passionate about - if you see a problem you want to be fixed, don't wait for a solution! CREATE one. Someone has to probably do it eventually... Why can't it be you? 😉


Anyway, I hope this recap motivates us for 2021! Here’s to another year of empowering girls in maths 🎉



*2020 Wrapped poster was first issued on 1st January 2021

180 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page